JD Salinger Dead at 91

by virtualDavis


J.D. Salinger died today. Like so many writers and bloggers and journalists reflecting on his writing, life and eccentricities, I am stumbling. He was a gifted and esoteric writer. (I pulled this photograph from Soup, but it appears to be a stock photo since it is appearing all over the place. Credit unknown.)

“Who wants flowers when you’re dead? Nobody.” ~ J.D. Salinger

“I’m sick of not having the courage to be an absolute nobody.” ~ J.D. Salinger

“I am a kind of paranoid in reverse. I suspect people of plotting to make me happy.” ~ J.D. Salinger

“An artist’s only concern is to shoot for some kind of perfection, and on his own terms and not any one else’s.” ~ J.D. Salinger

J.D. Salinger published thirteen short stories in The New Yorker between 1946 and 1965 including “A Perfect Day for Bananafish” and “Raise High the Roof Beam, Carpenters.”. (Available online to subscribers.)

Enhanced by Zemanta
